Hoagie Spread

I am still amazed that the recipe and post that garners the most attention on this site is my hot pepper hoagie spread.   It is the single most searched for post on my site and drives the most traffic to my site from search engines.  Who knew people were so fond of hot peppers!

Well, I had amassed quite a few hot peppers between my CSA and the garden, so early Sunday morning I threw together a quick batch and canned it so we would have it for the next few months.

hoagie spread

It couldn’t be easier to make, you just cut the stems off the hot peppers and cut them in half.  For every two cups of peppers, you add one cup of apple cider vinegar, one diced onion and a couple of cloves of garlic.  You bring everything to a boil, turn it down to a simmer and let it cook for approximately 20 minutes.  Once is has cooked down and the vegetables are tender, I dump the entire pan into my food processor and give it a whirl.  I pack the hot vegetables into hot jar, then process them in a hot water bath for 10 minutes.   It is a fat-free, salt free, vegan condiment that goes beautifully on a hoagie, but honestly, I love it with eggs, especially on an egg sandwich.  I take onions, peppers, and potatoes and saute them, I add eggs and scramble everything together.  I toast up a nice crusty roll and lay a piece of provolone cheese in the roll before topping it with the egg mixture and finally a nice dollop of hoagie spread.  It really wakes you up in the morning!

4 thoughts on “Hoagie Spread

  1. This is so simple. I processed as indicated with the same proportions, but mine is too runny. Do you strain it at all before you can it?

Leave a Reply

