Bread and Butter Pickled Jalapeno’s

Last week I got a huge bag of jalapeno’s from our CSA, it was exactly what I was waiting for, I couldn’t wait to make Bread and Butter Pickled Jalapeno’s again this year.   I made them for the first time two years ago and they were delicious, sweet and hot. I ended up putting them on all sorts of things, but my favorite way to use them, was dicing them and adding them to a batch of cornbread.

pickled jalapeno

As with any pickle recipe, it is a whole lotta prep and wait.   You clean the jalapeno’s (wear gloves….unless you like pain, then, by all means, tough it out), and put them and some sliced onions in salted water for a few hours.   After four hours, you drain, rinse, and drain the vegetables.  While they are draining for the second time, I went ahead and boiled my jars and started the brine.   As soon as the brine comes to a boil, you add the vegetables, cook them for a short time, can them and then process.  It goes fairly quickly once the brine comes to a boil.     I found the recipe on the Simply Recipes site.   I have used quite a few of their recipes, with wonderful results, and this one is no exception.   If you get a chance, check them out, and by all means, make these pickles!

One thought on “Bread and Butter Pickled Jalapeno’s

Leave a Reply

