Gazpacho

For the August birthday lunch, our co-worker couldn’t make up her mind about what she wanted me to  make.  I finally took matters into my own hands and settled on a make your own salad bar, gazpacho, bread, and chocolate chip cookies.    I love gazpacho, but the hubby despises cold tomatoes so when the opportunity to make it for work came about, I jumped at the chance.  Besides, it would use up a lot of my garden and CSA vegetables, which is always a plus.

gazpacho

I pulled up a few recipes on the internet, I didn’t find one that stood out to me, so I ended up winging it, with fantastic results, if I do say so myself.

Gazpacho

1 Cucumber, seeded and finely diced

2 Peppers, seeded and finely diced

5 Tomatoes, seeded and finely diced

1 Red Onion, peeled and finely diced

3 Cloves Garlic, peeled and finely diced

1 Jalapeno, seeded and finely diced

5 Cups Tomato Juice

Juice of One Lime

Take half the vegetable and half the tomato juice and put it in a food processor.  Pulse until everything is smooth and uniform.  Pour into a serving bowl, add the rest of the diced vegetables, the lime juice, and the rest of the tomato juice. Taste, season with salt and pepper.  Chill for a minimum of four hours, preferably overnight.  Serve with a garnish of thinly sliced scallions.

8.23.15 013

Everyone at worked loved it.  The fact that it was made with fresh picked vegetables, it was both vegan and fat-free made all of the girls very happy.  We had nothing left for me to put away when lunch was over.   Now that is what I call a winner!

Leave a Reply

