Stuffed Peppers

The hubby has been requesting stuffed peppers for the last few weeks.  I finally had a chance to make them the other night and it used up the peppers, carrots, onions, garlic, and tomatoes from our CSA.   I make mine with equal parts meat, vegetable, and rice.

I started by roasting off a pan of tomatoes with half the garlic cloves and half of an onion.   Once they came out of the oven, I let them cool a bit and pulled of the skin from the tomatoes.  I tipped the entire pan into a bowl and used my submersion blender to process it into a quick tomato sauce.

While that was cooking in the oven, I diced up an onion the remaining garlic cloves.  I pulled a one cup portion of shredded zucchini from the freezer and shredded up five small carrots from our CSA.    I started by sauteing the onions with a pound of meatloaf mix that I had picked up from the local butcher. Once the onions started to soften, I added the carrots, zucchini and garlic.   I cooked the meat completely through and set it aside to cool.

While the meat cooked, I started a pan of rice on the stove, it was done at the same time as the meat.  I combined the meat mixture and the rice and added a cup of shredded parmesan cheese and a half cup of minced fresh parsley.   I cut the peppers in half and seeded them.

I spread the tomato sauce in the bottom of the pan. I filled the peppers with the meat/rice mixture and nestled them into the tomato sauce.  I covered the pan with foil and cooked them at 350 degrees for 40 minutes.  I removed the foil and let them bake for another 15 minutes before serving them.

stuffed peppers

I love one pot meals, I was able to clean up all of my prep dishes, so the only thing we had left to clean up at the end of the night were our dinner dishes.  I let the peppers cool in the pan, covered them with plastic wrap and stored them in the fridge.  Easy peasy clean up!

Leave a Reply

