Chicken and Mashed Potatoes

The weather has been turning cooler and the sun sets a little earlier each day.   I am not a fan of fall, but I will say the light is spectacular. I just love the angle of the sun in the fall, it certainly frames the start and end of my day beautifully and makes for some amazing pictures.

We have been able to sleep with the windows open each night, it is so nice to snuggle under the covers, I do tend to sleep better when the room is cooler, so that is a big plus!

I don’t tend to make chicken on the bone in the summer, which is a shame, because the hubby and I are big fans.    Since the days have been noticeably cooler, I have no problem turning on my oven and roasting bone in meats for dinner.

roasted chicken mashed pots

I seasoned the chicken with salt, pepper, garlic, and a little sage.  I placed the breasts on a bed of sliced onions and roasted it for about 45 minutes.  The house smelled amazing!  I love how comforting the smell of roasted chicken is, it immediately reduces my stress level.   Speaking of comfort, who can resist a big bowl of fluff, creamy mashed potatoes.   This is my ultimate comfort food, anytime I am stressed, not feeling well or in pain, I crave mashed potatoes.   Things at work have been a bit crazy, there are just so many changes happening at once.  I know in the long run, it will be a very good thing, but while it is  happening and until things settle, it is pretty nerve-racking.   The good news – I may have a new employee in the next few weeks, that will go a long way to relieving some of my stress.   Either way, it is always good to know that roasted chicken and mashed potatoes will do wonders to soothe my soul.

To at least try to balance out the mashed potatoes, I used the salad greens, some carrots, a few radishes, and one tomato and made myself and really big salad to round out our dinner.   The salad greens were mostly baby arugula, which is one of my favorite lettuces.  I love the spicy bite and it works so well with a nice garlicky vinaigrette.

Leave a Reply

