PopeFest, Popeapolooza, Popeageddon, Popecalypse…….

Whatever you are calling it, the Pope coming to town has pretty much put a monkey wrench into everyone’s schedule.  Our university is closed Friday to Monday of Pope Week and I was smart enough to take a few additional days off so I am at home, cooking, relaxing, and pretty much enjoying not fighting traffic in and out of the city.   My plans for the days off are to make pierogi (potato and cheese, mushroom, sauerkraut, blueberry, and apple), along with some peach jam.

Since I had to stop at the farm stand for peaches, I decided to pick up a few apples and throw together a quick apple crisp for our dessert.  I didn’t follow a recipe, I just peeled and diced the apples.  I tossed them with a bit of cinnamon and sugar then topped them with a quick oat topping.

apple crisp

Apples baking with cinnamon is, to me, the quintessential smell of fall.   We ate half the pan after dinner, and used the rest on top of yogurt for breakfast in the morning.   All in all, not a bad way to end, and start, a few days off at home.   Thanks Pope Francis, I am so glad you decided to visit Philly! Hope you get to enjoy a cheese steak while in town.  I, for one, will be avoiding the Parkway like the plague, but I will watch your mass from the comfort of my couch!

Leave a Reply

