Office Bake Off Competition

We have three young ladies in our office who dreamt up a baking competition, bracket style, and asked us all to participate.  I had originally said no, my schedule is just ugly busy this time of year.   Well, they decided to ignore my no answer and schedule me anyway.    This past week was my turn.  I was up against our Director of Alumni Relations, Casey.  He doesn’t have a large repertoire of dishes, but the ones he makes are usually really, really freaking good.  I knew I had to bring my A game going against him in the competition.

I was really feeling the pressure because I hadn’t had a minute to come up with a plan or pull any cookbooks for ideas/inspiration.   The night before the battle, I had an epiphany, I found a recipe years ago for an Oatmeal Stoudt Cake with a Broiled Oatmeal Topping.  I love the flavors of this cake, it screams fall but doesn’t contain any apples or pumpkin.  I had most of the ingredients on hand, so it was a matter of a quick trip to the store and then the baking commenced.

oatmeal stoudt cake

What I like about this cake is that it isn’t overly sweet. There is a hint of orange in the cake and it goes perfectly with a cup of coffee in the morning.  All of the other entrees into the competition have been on the really sweet side, I figured I would stand out by choosing something totally different.

The good news is that I won, the bad news, I live to bake another day.  Our next round of battle will take place after the Papal Visit, so I have a bit of time to decide on my next dish….any suggestions?

Leave a Reply

