Soup and Turkey Sandwiches

The weather has been down right nippy lately, we have had lots of wind and rain.  It was the perfect time to make a batch of soup.  This is really my first soup of the fall.  It is one of my hubby favorites, pasta fagioli, basically an Italian vegetable soup.  Usually, this soup calls for mustard greens, but I had kale from our CSA, so I used that instead.  In fact, I had all of the ingredients on hand, except the fennel (sorry, momma, I know you are not a fan!) and it used up some of the CSA veggies, which is always a good thing!

9.26.15 012 9.26.15 015

As you can see, the soup mostly uses green and white veggies – fennel, celery, garlic, and onions along with the kale and a bit of garlic.  I added some diced delacata squash and a few string beans that I had picked up from the farm stand.  It calls for one can of tomatoes, I used a 28 oz can of diced, because it was what was in my pantry.  I used chicken stock to make the soup, again, because it was what I had in the pantry, but if you wanted this to be totally vegetarian, you can use vegetable stock.

You start this like you do any other soup, sweat the veggies in a bit of olive oil, seasoned with a bit of salt and pepper.  Once the vegetables are tender you add the stock and a parmesan cheese rind, and let it cook, about an hour before serving, add the greens, the green beans, and a can of white beans.

9.26.15 023

I cooked off a batch of mini bow ties and added them to our bowls before ladling the soup over top. I garnished the soup with a little grated parm cheese and we dug in.

Since the soup doesn’t have any meat, and goodness knows my husband is not a fan of meatless meals, I knew I would have to serve something else with dinner.   I decided to use up the leftover turkey and make a batch of turkey salad. I diced up the leftover turkey along with some celery, onion, and a carrot. I am a huge fan of different textures in my food and I love the crunch of raw veggies in salad.

To add another flavor component as well as another texture, I added a small bag of craisins to the bowl. It looked really pretty and thank goodness, it tasted even better!

9.26.15 021

It was a wonderful fall dinner, warm and comforting, exactly what you need when the wind is howling outside your door!

One thought on “Soup and Turkey Sandwiches

Leave a Reply

