Office Birthday Lunch for September

We are continuing the tradition of birthday lunches at our monthly staff meetings.  This month, one of the new young girls in the office got the pleasure of choosing our menu because she was the only September birthday girl!  I asked her what she wanted and gave her a deadline for choosing.  She took her time and I have to say, took the request quite seriously.  She sent me back a note saying she wanted pasta salad with lots of veggies, really good bread (my kind of girl!), and dirt for dessert.

I said we needed something else to round out the menu and she told me that was up to me. I thought it would be fun to go with more of a picnic menu, but I needed dishes that could a) travel well, and b) reheat easily in the office, if necessary.

I decided to poach off some boneless, skinless chicken, pull it and add some BBQ Sauce.   I boiled off some eggs and made deviled eggs, I put the whites on a tray and I didn’t fill them until we were ready to eat.  I made ranch dip and served that with a raw veggie tray, I put out a tray of cheese and crackers, and we had the pasta salad.

pasta salad pulled chx

I loaded the pasta salad with all sorts of veggies – red onion, carrots, celery, tomatoes, and black olives.  I deliberately didn’t add green pepper because one of the ladies in our office is allergic.  Once I got to work, my boss and I walked to Metropolitan Bakery and picked two loaves of really good bread.

One of the ladies in our lunch group is a diabetic.  I hate to single her out, but I like to make sure she has yummy food she can eat.  Usually with the meal, she has enough to eat and gets enough protein, where I get concerned is the dessert.  I like to make the same dessert, just sugar free, if I can and thank goodness they make sugar free pudding, sugar free cool whip and sugar free chocolate sandwich cookies!  She was able to eat exactly what everyone else was and in fact, several other people were thrilled with the sugar free option and chose to partake of that instead of the regular dirt!

dirt

For those of you unfamiliar with dirt, it is a dessert comprised of chocolate pudding, cool whip, and crushed oreo cookies.  If you click on the word dirt in the sentence above, you will find the Kraft recipe.  Easy to make and quite tasty to serve.  I have even seen it served with little gummy worms coming out the top, I did ask the birthday girl if she wanted worms, but thank goodness she said no! All in all, it was a really fun lunch, can’t wait to see what my boss, who is the October birthday girl, chooses for her meal.

Leave a Reply

