Reunion Weekend

One of the biggest events of the year at our school is reunion weekend. It has turned into a four-day festival with multiple events at multiple venues, both on and off campus.

Thursday night we had three simultaneous events on campus.  Our OT department threw a wine and cheese party for their alums, the Director of Alumni Relations threw a party to celebrate and thank all of the alumni volunteers for their service, and we hosted Barbara Bush and her Global Health Corps for the Lois Cohen lecture series.   Since I can’t be in three places at once, I am good, but not that good!, I clearly needed some help. Thank goodness I hired a new assistant. This is his is second week and so far it has been a trial by fire.  He is really doing well and I felt so comfortable leaving him to run the OT Wine and Cheese reception Thursday night.   The Director of Alumni Relations handled his own event, we did all of the prep work for him, so all he had to do was show up, shake hands, and smile.

All three events went off without a hitch and we had a wonderful turnout for all.   I thank every one of my co workers for pitching in and helping me and my new assistant pull off a wonderful evening of fun, reconnecting, and learning.  I couldn’t have done it without them.

I am looking forward to the rest of the weekend, it should be fantastic.  We have a seminar to honor one of our professors for his 50 years of service to the University, our current President is giving a Town Hall style speech to the alums, we have cocktail hours, dinner, and dancing.  We are even hosting a late night young alumni party on Saturday.  We are jam-packed with events.   I should be a very tired girl come Monday morning!

Leave a Reply

