Exhausted…..

Oh my word, four days of reunion activities have left me one tired girl.   Thank goodness I took today off!   We wrapped up a really long day on Saturday with a young alumni late night party.  I crawled into bed at 1am Sunday morning and thankfully remembered to set my alarm.  I had one last event on Sunday and I was terrified that I would over sleep.  The good news is that I didn’t need to leave my house until 10am, the bad news is I couldn’t sleep past 6:30am.  Ah well, I got up, took a shower and went to the office to finish up a bunch of things before heading to the Alumni Baseball game.   Because I went to the office first, I was able to take Monday off, so, really, it wasn’t a bad thing that I couldn’t sleep any later.  A huge shout out to my co-workers, every single one of you pitched in and made reunion 2015 a smashing success!  I am grateful to work with such a great group of people.  It was a pleasure and you made what could have been a long and stressful weekend, a joy to work.  Thank you, thank you, thank you!

The hubby has been sick all weekend, I feel bad that I had to work so many hours, but it gave him a chance to rest in a very quiet house so it wasn’t all bad.  I came home after the game and made a quick batch of Italian Wedding Soup.  I figured it would do us both good to have a warm bowl of chicken deliciousness for dinner.

I started by making mini chicken meatballs and I baked them off in the oven.  I really winged it, white meat ground chicken, plenty of garlic, a huge handful of freshly minced parsley, romano cheese, and a bit of bread that I soaked in some milk.   Once that mixture was combined, I rolled them into bite size meatballs and baked them in the oven for 20 minutes.

While they were baking, I got started on the soup.  I diced onions and carrots and tossed them in a pot with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.  Once the vegetables had a chance to sweat, I added chicken stock, and brought it to a boil.   When the vegetables were tender, I added minced parsley and a bag of baby spinach.  When the meatballs were done, I added them to the pot and let the entire thing simmer for an hour.

italian wedding soup

When I was ready to serve, I boiled up some water and cooked off half a pound of orzo pasta.   We had soup and ham sandwiches for dinner.  A great way to end a very long weekend!

ham sandwich

Leave a Reply

