Maple Apple Jam

Last weekend I picked up a half bushel of apples.  I had plans to spend my Sunday making jam, apple butter, and possibly an apple pie.  The best laid plans of mice and men…..unfortunately, it didn’t happen the way I planned it and I was left with a boatload of apples taking residence in my kitchen.  I had to work this weekend and I was so afraid I wouldn’t be able to use up the apples but luck was on my side. Friday afternoon I peeled a bunch of the apples and put them in my slow cooker on low.  Twenty four hours later, I had a no sugar added apple butter all ready to go.  I make this for my friend who is a diabetic and she loves it. She puts it on her breakfast bars in the morning and so far, it hasn’t been an issue with her blood sugar.

That left me with a lot of apples still to use.  I found a recipe years ago for Maple Apple Jam that is amazing on pancakes and I knew that was exactly what I wanted to do with the rest of the apples.

It calls for finely chopping 18 apples per batch.  It is a lot of peeling and cutting, but in the end it is totally worth it.   This recipe doesn’t use any pectin, just apples, spices, maple syrup and sugar.   You cook the entire thing down until it  has a jam like consistency and ladle it into sterilize jars.

maple apple jam finished jam

I made 18 jars of canned jam. I can’t wait to make waffles on Black Friday and smear them with maple apple jam!

Leave a Reply

