Apple Pie

I had enough apples left over on Sunday to make two pies.  My former employee, Scott, has been LOUDLY hinting that he would LOVE an apple pie.   It is also one of my hubby’s favorites, and I knew I could put them both in the oven while the last batch of maple apple jam was cooking on the stove.

Apple pie is so easy to make, peel and slice the apples, toss them with a bit of sugar and cinnamon and pile them into a crust.  I prefer a crumb topping, I don’t take the time to measure ingredients, I just end up tossing some flour, brown sugar, oats, and butter into a bowl, then mixing it up until it resembles course crumbs.

pie

I pack it on top of the apples and put the entire thing in the oven to bake.  Because I slice my apples so thin, it usually only takes an hour to bake.

crumb topping 11.8.15 022

I texted Scott to let him know to expect a pie in the morning, he was thrilled.  I know the hubby was more than thrilled with his pie.  Not a bad way to end a Sunday evening in the fall….. dinner followed by apple pie!

Leave a Reply

