The end is in sight….

Holy cow this semester has flown by.  We are getting down to the last few weeks and hopefully, I will have some well deserved time off soon!  

Because my hours have been insane the hubby’s travel schedule is just crazy, we haven’t been home much.   I was lucky enough to finish up my Women’s Leadership course this past week.  I learned so much and had  such a wonderful time with the ladies in my cohort.  Thankfully, we will all be talking to each other monthly so they will remain friends.

I have been working at least six days each week for the entire months of October and November.   I have been craving slow roasted dinners, but I just haven’t had time, or quite honestly, the energy, to make it happen.  Finally this past weekend, I had a day off and I chose to spend it slow cooking a lovely London Broil.

The recipe is so stinkin’ easy,  one of my former line cooks actually showed me how to do this.  You take one thick cut london broil, top it with your favorite store bought marinade, cover it with foil and roast it in a 300 degree oven for 3 hours.   The meat will be tender and oh so flavorful.

london broil

I needed mashed potatoes, they are hands down my favorite comfort food in the world, so I whipped up a batch to go with the meat.  We had greens from our CSA, so we had salad as our vegetable.  I picked up some onion rolls and called it a night.

It was a perfect late fall meal, slow roasted beef, creamy mashed potatoes and a crisp green salad.  Life is good when you have time to play in the kitchen!

beef dinner

 

Leave a Reply

