Thank Goodness for the Slow Cooker

I worked fourteen days straight last week, today is my first day off and wouldn’t you know it, I couldn’t sleep past 5am! Ah well, it just means I can get a jump start on all of my Christmas shopping, right?

Anyway, thank goodness for my slow cooker, it made dinner on Saturday night a snap.  I didn’t have to be in work until 9:30am, so before I left the house, I peeled and diced potatoes, and put them in a pot of water in the fridge.  I added some sliced onions and apples to the bottom of the slow cooker and topped it with a small pork roast.

pork roast

I added some chicken stock, seasoned the roast with some salt, pepper, and pork chop seasoning and let it cook all day.  I stopped at the store and picked up a bag of salad and a jar of gravy.

I asked the hubby to drain the potatoes, add fresh water and start them for me.  All I had to do when I got home was mash the pots, heat the gravy, and toss the salad.  The pork was perfect, tender enough to fall apart without being mushy and over cooked.  I LOVE mashed potatoes, they are my ultimate comfort food, hence why I paired it with salad – trying to balance out my love of carbs.

We ate dinner and I went to bed early, because Sunday was our last open house of the fall semester and I needed to be at work by 6am! I love when I can plan ahead and get dinner started before leaving the house, especially when I am working over a weekend.  I find I tend to use my slow cooker more in the fall and winter, which is mind boggling to me because it would make so much more sense to use it in the summer so you don’t heat up the kitchen…..ah well…maybe next year!

Leave a Reply

