Butternut Squash Soup and Grilled Cheese

I had two butternut squashes left from our last CSA pick up and I wanted to use them before they went bad.   The hubby and I are both huge fans of soup, and thankfully, he is totally fine with soup and sandwiches for dinner.

I started by roasting the butternut squash in the oven.  I find it intensifies the flavor of the squash and it is so much easier than peeling and dicing it for soup. All you need to do is stab it a few times with a sharp knife and place them on a rimmed cookie sheet.  I bake mine in a 350 degree oven until they are soft, flipping them once, it usually takes about 35 minutes.

While the squash roasted, I cut up some onions, carrots, celery, and garlic.  I sauteed them in a saucepan with a bit of olive oil and butter, seasoned with salt and pepper.   I added two boxes of chicken stock and let it simmer.  Once the squash was cooked through, I put it on a cutting board, slice it down the center and let it cool down a bit.  I scoop out the seeds and then using a large spoon, I scoop out the cooked flesh and add it to the stock pot.

I tossed in a few sprigs of fresh thyme and let the enough thing cook for another half hour.  I removed the thyme stems and pureed the soup.  I added a small bit of heavy cream and grilled up a few ham and cheese sandwiches. YUM!

grilled cheese, butternut squash soup

Leave a Reply

