Winter Solstice

I can’t believe today is the longest day of the year, it doesn’t seem possible, this year has just flown by.  I am thrilled to know that starting today, the days will be getting longer!  I just have to get through these dark winter days, but I feel like I have turned a corner. It is only in the dark that you can truly appreciate the light.

I guess it is also hard to believe that today is the start of winter, our weather has been ridiculously mild, in fact, we are looking at temperatures in the mid 70’s by the end of this week.   Thankfully, we haven’t yet had to shovel any snow off the deck to use the gas grill.   I know those days are coming, but with luck and a little faith, maybe they will be few and far between this winter.

pork and acorn squash

I have been craving salad lately and have been having them for lunch quite often, tonight I thought it would be nice to have it as our side dish.   I oven roasted an acorn squash that I filled with a little butter, brown sugar, a splash of maple syrup, some walnuts, and raisins.  The hubby grilled off some boneless pork chops and I tossed together a quick salad.  A nice farewell to autumn meal, if I do say so myself!

Leave a Reply

