Christmas Crack and Christmas Cookies

Thankfully, I was able to take December 23rd off and with the winter break, I don’t have to go back until January 4th, whoo hooo!  I am so grateful for the break, I really need some time to relax, rest, and recharge.

But, before I was able to do that, I had some last minute baking to catch up on.  I have been making Burnt Sugar Almonds for the last few years now and they are always a big hit.  They are super simple to make, really too easy to make actually, and they don’t usually last more than a day in our house.

christmas crack

A few years back one of my neighbors nicknamed it Christmas Crack because she just couldn’t stop eating it, well, the name stuck and that is what all of my friends and family call it now.  It isn’t Christmas until I have made at least one batch of Christmas Crack…

We celebrated Christmas with the hubby’s family on Sunday.  I made a huge pan of lasagna, a pan of chicken and sausage with peppers, a giant tossed salad, bread, and a bean, pasta, and sausage soup.   Since we have so many little ones now, I decided to make tons of cookies for dessert.

I was lucky enough to have some help making the cookies, my husband’s nephew and family stayed with us for a few days and I put the little ones to work making cookies with me.  We had fun, and I think they boys ate half the cookies before everyone else arrived!  Thankfully, we had made six different kinds so we had plenty to go around.  I had also made a batch of rice pudding, so we didn’t lack for dessert! I sent home cookies with the boys but we still have a ton in our house…anyone hungry, I am happy to share!

 

Leave a Reply

