Turkey, Risotto, and Broccoli

I found a honey brined turkey breast at Wegman’s and thought that sounded like a really good option for dinner!   I followed the instructions on the package and the meat turned out beautifully, if I do say so myself.  Tender and incredibly moist, with a really nice flavor to it.  The honey helped brown the skin to a perfectly golden color.   I loved how it looked coming out of the oven.

roasted turkey

Since the meat was already brined and only had to be roasted, it freed me up to make side dishes that required a little more work.  I found a box of turkey stock at Wegman’s and decided to make risotto using the turkey stock, as our starch.  The hubby LOVES risotto, so he was beyond thrilled.   I picked up a head of broccoli as well and steamed that as our vegetable for the night.

I like making risotto, it requires a little more TLC than most of my starches, but cooking relaxes me, and having something that I enjoy to focus on at the end of a long day is always a nice way to unwind, especially on the first day back after winter break!

Leave a Reply

