One last Christmas Present…

Right before we left for winter break, one of my co-workers mentioned that he was craving his mother’s rice pudding.  His mother passed away years ago, and he was never able to duplicate her recipe to his satisfaction.

James and I work very closely together on all of our academic ceremonies.  I absolutely adore him, he is amazing.  He and I work together so well, I can always count on him to not only handle his part of the work, but to do it perfectly, every time.   My only complaint, the boy does everything, and I do mean everything, at the very last minute.   I am a person who plans years in advance, so it took a while for us to find a nice balance, but we have and it works beautifully.  He makes me laugh and there is no one I would rather do the academic events with.  He keeps me sane during Commencement and I keep him sane every other day of the year.  It is a fair trade off.

Because of our work schedules, we had decided to exchange gifts after we returned in January.  He asked me to make him peanut butter cookies, and of course I gave him jam, but I decided to make him a batch of rice pudding as well.  I figured it might not be exactly like his mom’s but it would hopefully make him happy.

pb cookies

Luck was on my side, he loved the rice pudding and ate the entire batch in under 24 hours.  I was so glad to be able to give him a gift that brought back beautiful memories for him.  I can officially declare the holiday season is now over….and what a way to end it!

Leave a Reply

