Cream of Potato Soup with Ham

I have been craving potato soup, but the weather during winter break was just so darn warm, I wasn’t in the mood for soup.  Winter has finally decided to rear it’s ugly head, so it was a good time for soup.  I mean really, soup is one of the only things I look forward to in winter!

I  love lots of veggies in my soup, I used three stalks of celery, four carrots, two onions, and five potatoes.  I started by sweating the onions, celery, and carrots in olive oil after seasoning them with a bit of salt and pepper.  Once they were soft, I added a box and a half of chicken stock and three sprigs of fresh thyme, turned it up to a boil, then down to a simmer.  I let it cook for thirty minutes, then added the potatoes.  Once the potatoes were done. I fished out the thyme stems, added in one ham slice, diced, and two cups of heavy cream.

It was delicious!  So I wouldn’t be tempted to eat the entire pot, I drove down to visit my great aunt and took her a container.   I made her a loaf of zucchini bread to go along with the soup and we had a lovely afternoon visiting.  I was glad I made the soup, it was exactly what I was craving and I was more proud of myself for not eating the whole pot.  Everything in moderation.

Leave a Reply

