Roast Chicken Dinner

Is there anything better than the smell of a chicken roasting in the oven during the long, cold, winter months?  It absolutely makes me happy.  Saturday, I went to the butcher and picked up a couple of pounds of meat loaf mix and a whole chicken.   I roasted the chicken for dinner Saturday night and made a batch of mashed potatoes and steamed peas.

chx dinner

The quality of the meat from our butcher is just so much better than anything I can get in the grocery store.  The chicken was so tender and moist, it was a pleasure to eat.   Of course, mashed potatoes are my weakness and goodness knows, we tend to treat gravy as a beverage in our house.  I did limit myself to ONE helping of mashed potatoes and left the rest for the hubby.  It was totally worth the extra steps I had to take to work them off….totally worth it!  The hubby is always happy to come into our house when food is cooking on stove or in the oven, but for me, the smell of roast chicken is just miles above anything else you can cook in the oven.

One thought on “Roast Chicken Dinner

Leave a Reply

