No, I wasn’t working for the weekend….

Whoo HOO!  I had off this weekend, in fact, I took Friday off and had a nice long, three day weekend.   My niece and her family came for a visit, we had a two year old and three teenagers in the house for three days.  We had fun, the girls went shopping, the boys watched football.  We ate wayyyyyy to much food and had fun visiting and running after a two year old little boy with boundless energy.  Good thing there were 7 of us to keep one little boy occupied.

Friday afternoon I made a big batch of brownies and a loaf of lemon blueberry ricotta bread.  I figured we could have the brownies for dessert on Friday  night and the bread for breakfast on Saturday.

brownies.JPG1.17.16 004

While I was in the kitchen, I prepped our dinner.  I made pork with pineapple.  A sweet and sour pork dish with veggies and a whole lotta pineapple.   I served it over rice.  Because we had a full house, I didn’t take photo’s of our finished dishes, we all just dug in and ate.

I found this recipe years ago in my Big Book of Casseroles Cookbook.  I love it because I can cut the meat and veggies in the morning and when I get home I just need to brown the meat, saute the vegetables for five minutes and mix together water, soy sauce, and cornstarch.  I mix everything together, add a can of pineapple, and let it bake for 45 minutes.  I serve it over rice, it makes a really nice dinner, great flavors and it doesn’t take long to put it together.  I find it reheats well.  It is one of my favorite meals to make someone has a new baby.  Kids like it because it is sweet and the roasted pineapple is delicious, it is different, it isn’t your standard lasagna or baked ziti (which I LOVE, don’t get me wrong!)

It was so nice to have company this weekend, hopefully I will be seeing the teenagers this summer when they come down for college open houses! What did you do this weekend?

Leave a Reply

