Corn Chowder

After our company left on Sunday afternoon, I was craving Corn Chowder.  I completely blame my niece, she talked about the batch she made before they came down here to visit.   I ran to the store and grabbed two bags of frozen corn and roasted them in the oven.  While they were baking, I diced and sauteed a red bell pepper, some carrots, onions, and celery.  1.17.16 043

I seasoned the vegetables with salt and pepper, added some sprigs of fresh thyme and some diced potatoes.  I added the roasted corn and two boxes of chicken stock.  I let it simmer for a few hours, removed the thyme stems and added in a cup of half and half along with the leftover bacon we had from breakfast.

corn chowder

Mid afternoon the snow started falling, we only got a dusting, but it was enough to make me really grateful for a warm bowl of soup as my dinner!  Thank goodness the hubby is happy with soup and sandwiches for dinner.  The best news, I now have leftover soup to take with me for lunch tomorrow, whoo hooo!  I need to plan for the end of the week, according to the forecast, we are expecting our first batch of heavy snow….winter can go away….any day now…..

 

Leave a Reply

