Blizzard of 2016

So the blizzard of 2016 is finally behind us, now all we have to do is dig out from all of this snow!  We ended up with an official snow fall total of 25″ in 24 hours, not too bad.  I took pictures during the white out faze of the blizzard.

blizzard conditions

Thankfully we stayed warm and dry inside.  I made a batch of Pennsylvania Dutch Pot Pie for dinner Saturday night.  I started first thing in the morning making to stock and cooled it down quickly in a snow pile.

cooling stock in the snow

It didn’t take any time at all to cool the stock and that allowed me to de fat it before making the pot pie.

mirexpoix

I started with leeks, carrots, and celery and allowed them to sweat a bit before adding the home made stock.  I poached some chicken breasts in the soup and once they were fully cooked, I pulled them out, shredded them and added them back to the pot.   The final step was making the home made noodles.

homemade noodles

I dropped them in the pot of boiling stock and once they were all added, I turned it down to a simmer, partially covered the pot and allowed it to simmer for an hour before we dug in.

pot pie

The soup went beautifully with the home made rolls I had made earlier in the day.  In fact, I spent almost the entire day in the kitchen on Saturday.  Stock, soup, noodles, rolls, banana bread, and chocolate cake.  Not a bad way to spend a blizzard.  Now if I could just get out my front door, that would make me really, really happy!

snowed in...literally

2 thoughts on “Blizzard of 2016

Leave a Reply

