Sour Dough Bread

I love making bread, it is one of my favorite things do to on a snowy, winter day!  Last Sunday while the men were outside snow blowing, yet again, I was inside, making bread dough.

sour dough

The whole process actually started on Friday night, I fed my sour dough started when I got home and 8 hours later, I used it to make the poolish, and let that sit until Sunday morning when I made the bread dough.

I know, it sounds complicated, but really, it is quite easy, you just need to make sure you plan ahead.  Bread, well, good bread, takes a bit of patience.  Those of you who know me, are scratching your heads, I know, I am not known for my patience, but when the reward is a hot loaf of really good crusty bread, I have the patience of a saint!

sour dough bread

Just as I was pulling the loaves out of the oven, one of my neighbors texted.  She invited the women of the ‘hood over to her house since the men had just left to take all of the kids to the big sledding hill.  I said I would be over shortly, changed my clothes, bundled myself into my snow boots, grabbed a bottle of wine, a bag of chips, a jar of salsa, and one of the loaves of bread.  I knew we weren’t going to be able to eat both of them before they went bad and I figured she could serve it with her dinner.  Instead, we ended up cutting into the loaf and eating it with lots of really soft butter.  When the hubby’s and kiddo’s came back, I ran home for the other loaf and we devoured that one too!  I was totally surprised at how much the kids enjoyed the bread.  They are definitely my kind of kids! I was so glad I made the bread, with only two of us in the house, sometimes I hesitate to make bread since it makes so much, but during a snow storm, baking bread is always a good idea!

Leave a Reply

