Chicken and Barley Soup

Ahh soup….one of the best things about winter!  I ended up with the weekend off, whoo hooo! so I decided to make a batch of soup on Saturday.  I love the way the house smells when you spend the day cooking.

I got up early, cleaned the house, then showered and hit the grocery store.  The parking lots are still a mess, there is about half the normal parking spaces, this snow can’t melt fast enough for me.  Anyway, I had a full cart, it seemed we were out of all of the basics this week.  When I got home, I started prepping the soup while the hubby went to a friends to watch the Senior Bowl (poor guy, it was the only game in town this weekend, literally!)

chicken barley soup

I loaded the soup up with a ton of veggies, carrots, onions, celery, mushrooms, and garlic, then added the barley.  I threw in some fresh thyme, two bay leaves and deglazed the pan with some marsala wine.   Once the wine cooked out, I added the diced, browned chicken to the pot, along with two cartons of stock.  I brought the entire thing to a boil, turned it down to a simmer, partially covered it with a lid and let it cook for a few hours.   We had a lovely dinner of chicken and barley soup with toast.  Perfect wintery dinner in our house.  Thankfully it made a ton so I will have soup to take with me for lunches this week, whoo hoo!

Leave a Reply

