Make Your Own Taco’s

Super Bowl Sunday landed exactly at the half way point of my 13 day work stretch, but I didn’t let that stop me from hosting a small gather of neighbors.   I wanted something easy and fun, that both kids and adults would enjoy, and I finally settled on a make your own taco bar.

I had both corn and flour tortillas as well as some hard shell taco’s.  I made a huge batch or pork carnita’s in the slow cooker on Saturday and then shredded them and reheated on Sunday.

pork carnitas

I fried up a couple of pounds of ground beef with taco seasonings, made a batch of home made salsa and put out all of the accompaniments (shredded cheese, queso dip, sour cream, shredded cabbage, etc).

I made a big batch of chicken tortilla soup with corn and black beans as well as a batch of cornbread with bread and butter pickled jalapeno’s.

chx tortilla soup

For dessert I made a batch of cheesecake squares and a pan of nutella fudge.  My neighbors all brought either an appetizer or dessert to share and we had a ball.   I made a batch of margarita’s and we had soda and juice for the kids.   I think everyone had a good time.  I know I did!  The taco bar was such a success, I think I might make it for our annual family Christmas dinner this year.   Congratulations to the Denver Bronco’s on their Super Bowl 50 win, I really didn’t care either way, I was just happy to be eating really good pork taco’s and enjoying the company of my great neighbors.

Leave a Reply

