My reward

Saturday was my 6th day in a row to work, not the longest week I have ever worked, by any stretch of the imagination, but it was quite a stressful week.  We had our 195th Founders Day ceremony this week and it is always a bit stressful when you plan an academic ceremony.  There are so many moving parts, so much protocol to be aware of, and a boatload of VIP’s who need attention.  The day went off with a few small glitches, but overall it was very successful.  Friday was an easy day working from home and Saturday I had an outside organization host a tech conference at work.  I had to be at work really early Saturday morning, thankfully this group has been at our place before, they are super easy to work with and genuinely lovely people.   That being said, it was still an early morning, a long day, at the end of a very long week.  I was looking forward to an easy, decadent, and delicious dinner on Saturday night.

I love steak….I mean, I really, really, love a good steak, tender, juicy, cooked to perfection…..and since this dinner was to be my reward for a long and difficult week, I splurged and picked up two filet’s.

Originally I was going to make baked potatoes, but I got out of work later than expected and two, the hubby had decided to shampoo the carpets and the family room couch was blocking my entrance into my pantry so I didn’t have access to the potatoes I planned on having as our side dish.  No worries, thankfully, the hubby mentioned the issue before I stopped at the store so I was able to pick up a bag of frozen french fries along with a head of fresh broccoli.

Dinner was on the table in 30 minutes and the hubby grilled my steak beautifully.  I have to say I was in such a hurry to eat that I rushed the picture, so it is kinda blurry, but it was totally worth it, I thoroughly enjoyed my dinner! We put the family room back to rights after dinner and I was able to curl up on the sofa, read a book, and enjoy a glass of wine.  Not a bad Saturday night if I do say so myself!

2.21.16 002

Leave a Reply

