I’m back….did you miss me?

My goodness, I really need to hire a coordinator.  My schedule is getting beyond insane.  Oh well…..what doesn’t kill you only makes you stronger, right?

I have been working a lot of nights and every weekend so I haven’t been spending as much time in the kitchen as I would like.  I am hoping that will change by the end of this month, wish me luck.

The meals I have been preparing lately are ones that can be done quickly, with a minimum of fuss. A few days back I picked up a package of thinly sliced chicken breasts and turned them into a really delicious chicken piccata.  Chicken cutlets cook so quickly they are the perfect weeknight dinner choice.

I started by dredging the chicken in seasoned flour and browning it in a pan.

3.4.16 001

I removed the chicken from the pan and added a bit more flour to make a roux and let it cook for a minute.   I whisked in a bit of white wine, a carton of chicken stock, and added a few sliced lemons to the pan.

I let that cook on low for about 15 minutes  before adding in lemon juice, a handful of capers, and minced parsley.  While the sauce cooked, I boiled up a half of a box of pasta and roasted a bunch of asparagus.  I added the chicken back into the sauce to heat it up, and then topped the pasta with the chicken and sauce.

chx picatta

The chicken was so tender and the sauce had a nice acidic bite from the lemon and capers.  I doubled the sauce so that we had enough to coat the pasta.  Not too shabby for a weeknight dinner, if I do say so myself!

 

 

Leave a Reply

