Craving a good steak

I have been craving a nice big juicy steak for the last few days.  This usually happens to me when I get tired, I am assuming it is my body’s way of telling me that I need nutrients found in red meat, or it could just be that I deserve a great steak after working 13 days in a row.  Either way, Saturday after coming home from work, I stopped at the store and picked up two filet’s.   I knew I had some bacon at the house that needed to be cooked, so I threw two large baking potatoes in the cart along with a head of broccoli.

steak and twice baked3

I baked the potatoes, scooped out the insides, added some cheese, cooked and crumbled  bacon, a bit of sour cream and a nice helping of butter.   I had picked up a bunch of scallions so I sliced them on the bias and added them to the mixture.  I spooned all of it back into the potato skins and baked them for about 30 minutes.   I topped them with a bit more cheese and put them in the oven to finish heating through and to melt the cheese.

The hubby loves broccoli, but only if it is fresh, he hates when I buy frozen broccoli.  Weird, but then again, I have been known to have some pretty skewed food issues so I don’t give him a hard time about it.

It was exactly what I needed for dinner.  That and a glass of red wine, I was a very happy girl.  Goodness, you know you are old when the best part of a Saturday night is a good meal and a great glass of wine….ah well….I can live with it! I finished the night with a giant piece of nutella fudge with sea salt. Life just doesn’t get any better.

Leave a Reply

