Time for a little R ‘n R

Holy cow that was one intense semester, I don’t think I have ever worked that many hours or days in a fifteen week span.  Thankfully, Commencement is over and our Friday’s off have started.  I took Thursday as a vacation day and that means I have FIVE WHOLE DAYS OFF IN A ROW! It’s a miracle!

The day after Commencement I usually treat myself to a day a the spa and this year was no exception,  I spend the day being pampered and didn’t even hit 10,000 steps on my FitBit.   The hubby was coming home Thursday night, I knew I would be tired, and the weather has FINALLY warmed up.  I wanted something light and simple for dinner.   I settled for picking up a package of boneless, skinless chicken breasts and marinating them with garlic and herbs.

I grabbed two different kinds of lettuce – baby romaine and baby arugula – some red onion, yellow pepper, cucumber, tomatoes, and goat cheese.  I diced the veggies, washed the cherry tomatoes before leaving for my appointments.  All I had to do when I got home was grill the chicken and assemble the salads.

I served the salads in two large mixing bowls.  At first the hubby wasn’t thrilled with the idea of eating out of a large bowl, but once I showed him how easy it was to toss it with the dressing and add in the diced chicken, he was a believer.

As an added bonus – there were very few dishes to wash!

grilled chx salad

It was delicious, so light, so healthy, exactly what I needed after a long and stressful week at work!

Leave a Reply

