April Showers, May Flowers

On Friday, I finally got around to getting my flower gardens planted.   It was a bit of a scorcher, but it was nice to be outside and have the sun on my back.  Thankfully, I was able to get them in before the temperature hit 90 degrees.

I need to get some more flowers for the pots on the back patio, but the flower beds are done, thank goodness!  The roses out front have started to bloom as well, I just love having so much color in the beds, such a change from the winter and early spring.

We added a shepherds hook out front and I picked up two gorgeous hanging baskets, now I just have to remember to water them each day before work.  Thankfully, I have Friday’s off from now until August, and my work schedule gets considerably easier in June and July.  I am really looking forward to enjoying more time at home, especially now that the days are getting hotter and longer.  This is, without a doubt, my favorite time of year.   This weekend has been downright HOT, I think I am the only person in the neighborhood who is happy about that.   We added a whole host of American Flags around the gardens and the yard to honor the military men and women who gave all in service to our country. Freedom isn’t free, it is a privilege, and we have our fallen solders to thank for their part in the defense and protection of our freedoms.  This isn’t a holiday for honoring the living, it is a day to remember and commemorate the heroes who are no longer with us.

 

2 thoughts on “April Showers, May Flowers

Leave a Reply

