Garlic Knots

So I had some dough left over from our Friday night pizza dinner and I hate to have food go to waste. I decided to make a small batch of garlic knots to go with out dinner on Saturday.  It was a great idea, if I do say so myself!

The only thing I was missing, was some fresh parsley for color, but I can live with that!

garlic knots

I melted a stick of butter and added six minced cloves of garlic.  I let it cook for a few minutes, on low, so the flavors could meld.    I shaped the dough into knots, put them on a greased sheet pan and covered them with a warm, damp towel.  After about a half hour, they had doubled in size, so I pre-heated the oven to 375 degrees.   The knots take about 20 minutes to bake, while they were in the oven, the hubby grilled off some beautiful steaks and I steamed up a batch of cauliflower.   I made a quick cheese sauce using chicken stock and some low fat laughing cow cheese and tossed the cauliflower in the sauce.

Once the knots came out of the oven, I brushed them with the garlic and butter mixture and sprinkled them with Parmesan cheese. They smelled amazing and tasted even better.  Is there anything better than fresh, hot bread slathered in butter and garlic? I added a salad to the table and we dug into dinner!

It was the third night in a row that we were able to eat dinner outside on the deck, whoo hoooo – I am THRILLED that the weather has finally warmed up.  I love eating outside on our deck, plus it gave my kitchen time to cool down after baking the garlic knots!

Leave a Reply

