Crustless Quiche

I am not a huge fan of pie crust so instead, I made a crustless quiche.  I started by browning up three slices, diced,  of thick cut, pepper crusted bacon.  Once the fat was rendered and the pieces were nice and crisp, I drained them on a paper towel.  Using the bacon fat in the pan, I sauteed an 8 oz container of baby portobello mushrooms, then added one small onion, diced.  Once the onions and mushrooms were cooked, I removed them from the pan, added a bit more oil, and sauteed up some fresh spinach.

I layered the meat and veggies in the pan, topped it with a little bit of shredded cheese and poured in eight eggs that I had whisked with a little heavy cream and seasoned with salt and pepper.

It took about 35 minutes to cook at 350 degrees.   I had a slice for breakfast, the rest I took with me to work each day, along with a tossed green salad, for a quick, inexpensive, and healthy lunch option.  While I am not a big fan of eggs first thing in the morning, I love eating quiche for lunch alongside a green salad that is tossed in a vinegary dressing.

Leave a Reply

