Stuffed Peppers

I feel like I have been in a rut with our dinners lately, so I decided to change things up a bit.  I picked up some glorious red peppers from the store.  They were actually cheaper than the green peppers this week, go figure! Anyway, I added a pound of bulk sweet Italian sausage to the cart and a couple of cans of tomato sauce.

When I got home, I sauteed the meat with some onions and garlic.   While that was cooking, I made a batch of white rice.  When both were done, I combined them in a bowl with a healthy handful of grated Romano cheese.   Using a spoon, I thoroughly combined the mixture then stuffed it into the cleaned peppers.

In the winter, I bake our stuffed peppers in the oven, but in the summer, I prefer to put them in a disposable aluminum pan and bake them on the grill.   It is so easy and honestly they cook faster than if they were in the oven.

I poured the tomato sauce in the bottom of the pan, snuggled the stuffed peppers, one in each corner of the pan.  I added the rest of the rice/meat mixture to the sauce in the center, covered the pan with foil and placed it on the grill.

stuffed peppers

It took about 20 minutes on the grill.  Since the mixture was already fully cooked, all I needed to do was cook the peppers and make sure the filling was hot.

We have been getting tons of yellow squash out of the garden so I sliced up a few and grilled them to go alongside the peppers.  It was a really pretty combination, the red peppers, the white filling and the yellow squash.  Now if I had only thought to take a photo before we dug in…..ah well….trust me when I tell you it was amazing and looked really pretty on the plate.

Leave a Reply

