Grilled Meatloaf

I love the convenience of grilled meatloaf for dinner during the week. Since you have to make it ahead of time to give it enough time to completely cool, you get to come home, relax for a bit on the deck before jumping into dinner prep.  I tend to make mine with meatloaf mix (pork, beef, and veal), I add a ton of shredded veggies (onion, garlic, carrots, zucchini, yellow squash), and a bit of bread soaked in milk.  I round that out with some Worcestershire sauce and a little salt and pepper.   Once I put the meatloaf in the pan, I top it with bacon, because honestly, bacon makes everything better!

grilled meatloaf

We cut thick slices of the cooled meatloaf and placed them on a searing hot grill.   Since the meat is already cooked, all you are really doing is charring the outside and heating it through. We smear a bit of BBQ sauce on the slices just before taking them off the grill.

We have both yellow squash and zucchini coming out our ears right now.  The garden has been quite prolific, thank you very much.  We are grilling both squash and zucchini on a nightly basis around here.  We have so much coming out of the garden right now, that I am bringing it to work and handing them out to whoever will take me up on my offer of fresh veggies!

 

2 thoughts on “Grilled Meatloaf

  1. Wish I lived next door to you so I could get your leftovers Y0u always make me hungry with your blogs . Love Aunt Helen

Leave a Reply

