Grilled Chicken Salad

This week has been hot….really hot….and humid. I just haven’t felt like eating big, hearty, heavy meals.   I figured a nice big salad with yummy grilled chicken was the way to beat the heat while satisfying our hunger.

The hubby has simple tastes, he likes lettuce, a bit of red onion, a sliced hard boiled egg, sliced grilled chicken and a ton of croutons.   I on the other hand, opted for more veggies, a good handful of marinated  hot peppers, olives, and a little bit of goat cheese along with some diced chicken.

I honestly didn’t even use dressing, the vinegar from the peppers combined with the creamy goat cheese was all I needed.   I had made a batch of mini loaves of sourdough bread over the weekend.  I was smart enough to put them in the freezer so they would be ready to add to our weeknight dinner.   Because they are so small, it doesn’t take long for them to thaw and the hubby took the time to heat the bread on the grill when he was cooking the chicken. Perfect hot summer day dinner if you ask me!

Leave a Reply

