Spaghetti with Meat Sauce

The weather forecast was calling for intense thunderstorms so I knew grilling our dinner was out of the question.  I wanted pasta, so I gave the hubby a choice: Lasagna, Baked Ziti, or Spaghetti with Meat Sauce.  I was totally surprised when he choose the latter.  He is a BIG fan of baked ziti and lasagna so I was sure that was what we were going to have.

spaghetti with meatsauce

I used a combination of hot Italian sausage and ground beef.  I diced a onion and a few garlic cloves and added it to the meat as it was cooking.  I love the jarred pasta sauce by Mario Batali, it is really tasty and makes getting a pasta dinner on the table a snap.

Once the meat was browned, I added in the sauce and let it simmer while I boiled a pot of water.  Once the pasta was done, it was a simple matter of plating the pasta, adding a generous helping of parm cheese and digging in!

While we were eating the storm raged outside, but as soon as we finished, the sun came out and a double rainbow could be seen for miles.  Nothing like the sun shining through the rain to end to make for a spectacular night at home!

Leave a Reply

