What a difference a month makes…

The new freshman class has arrived!  Anna, my new assistant, is wonderful, and I had the most amazing vacation in the outer banks of North Carolina.   Not a bad way to end the summer, if I do say so myself.

Friday August 26th we welcomed the new freshman class.  It is, hands down, my favorite day on campus.  The excitement, the hope, the drama….

In addition to the new class, we also welcomed a new President, our 25th!  Because I didn’t have enough to do – you know, handling the first academic ceremony of the new year, welcoming the new freshman class, helping with move in, dealing with a new president, packing for my trip to the outer banks…..I decided to make five, yes, five batches of cookies the night before I left for vacation.  Why you ask….good question…I think because I am a sucker, that’s why.  My old assistant, Scott, asked me to make him cookies.  Of course, he couldn’t have asked me when it was just him and I, NOPE, he asked in a room full of folks.  Next thing I know I have requests coming far and wide.   Good thing I don’t sleep!  I made two batches of chocolate chip, two batches of peanut butter, and one batch of blondies.   Honestly, the blondies were for the students who work at the front desk of the venue we use for Convocation.   They are always, and I mean, always willing to help me with whatever I need, so I try and reward them with home cooked food when I can.

It will be an exciting year, with a lot of changes.  Buckle up and get ready for a wild ride.    I am back to my insane schedule of working at least 6 days a week.  I don’t have another weekend off until Thanksgiving. Thankfully, I was able to get in a vacation to my happy place, so I am rested and ready for action!

 

Leave a Reply

