The beaches of North Carolina

I love, love, love, the beach, but the beaches in the outer banks of North Carolina are especially amazing.

obx-2016-067

Sitting on the deck, watching the sun rise over the ocean is the perfect way to start any day.  I love the sounds of the waves hitting the sand, all of my worry and tension just melt away.

We spent one morning at the 4 wheel drive beach where we were treated to not one, but two visits from the wild horses.

I was totally surprised that we didn’t find very many shells on the beach this year.  Usually I come home with buckets full, but this year I didn’t find a single one worth picking up and bringing home.

I finally gave in to peer pressure while in the outer banks, one morning I stopped by and grabbed a box of Duck Donuts.  For those of you who are not familiar, let me explain.  The donuts are hot and are made to order, while you wait.  You pick a frosting, a topping, and a drizzle and in about 10 minutes you are walking out the door with a box of fresh, piping hot donuts.  I am not a big fan of donuts, and the idea of eating that much sugar for breakfast is not really my idea of a good time, but I decided I needed to take one for the team and find out what all of the hype was about.

They were, without a doubt, tasty.  A cake style donut, hot, and fresh from the fryer.  It was definitely worth trying, but not something I could eat more than one day while down the shore!

We ended our week bracing for the hurricane.  I LOVED watching the storm roll in…others in my party were not so thrilled dealing with a category one hurricane in a house that sits right on the beach.  I was the wing nut outside taking photos…..

 

The skies were beautiful and the ocean was wicked.  I had to open the back door around 2 am to re latch the outer screen door and I was covered with sand.  The wind was just whipping sand against the house.   Truly the only time I was a little nervous was  when we had to cross the Chesapeake Bay Bridge Tunnel.  They had 60 MPH sustained winds with gusts of up to 80 MPH.  The waves were crashing onto the bridge.  Thankfully there weren’t many people on the bridge so we straddled the center and drove at a snails pace.

I can’t wait to go back next summer!

Leave a Reply

