Babies, lots, and lots of babies

Holy cow, in the last few weeks there have been no less than five babies born.   Four girls and one lovely, little boy.

One of those beautiful baby girls was born to my friend Cat and her hubby.  I promised I would make them dinner after she was born and I always  keep my promises.

So many folks in our area bring pasta dishes to new parents, which is lovely, but by the second week you are tired of looking at another pan of baked ziti.  I on the other hand, go in the complete opposite direction and make something with absolutely no cheese or tomatoes.   I make a Hawaiian Pork dish.  You start by dicing and browning pork tenderloin.  After the pork is browned, I put it in a bowl, and brown the peppers and onions.  I like to use red, orange, yellow, AND green peppers because they look so darn pretty.   Once the veggies are tender, put them in the bowl with the meat.  Add one can of pineapple chunks and a mixture of soy sauce and cornstarch to the frying pan.   Whisk until thickened, toss with the meat and veggies and bake for approximately 35 minutes until hot and bubbly.  I serve it over rice.  It transports easily once cooled, and it re heats beautifully.  More importantly, since everything is cut into bite sized pieced, it is really easy to eat while holding a new born baby!

Since I was stopping over in the morning, I also made a batch of chicken salad for lunch.  I served that over a bed of greens with a loaf of ciabatta bread.  Healthy, quick and easy to eat, everything you need to feed lunch to a new Mommy.  Congratulations Cat!  Your daughter is beautiful, thanks for letting me stop by and hold your bundle of joy.

Leave a Reply

