Apples, apples, everywhere

I worked Saturday morning, but was done by 12:30pm, whoo hooo!  I left work and drove straight to the farm stand.  I picked up a half bushel of Cortland apples and five gallons of apple cider.

I turned the apples into maple apple jam and an apple crisp.

It is so hard for me to believe that I have only done strawberry jam and now maple apple jam.  Usually by this time of year, I have at least 10 different varieties of jam, nicely labeled and sitting in my office ready to give away at Christmas.

Speaking of Christmas presents, I decided to brew hard cider again this year.   I took the five gallons of unpasteurized, freshly pressed cider from the farm stand, poured it into a five gallon food grade bucket and added a little bit of brown sugar.  Once the sugar measured 16 brix on the scale, I added the yeast and topped the container with a lid.

hard-cider-brewing

I will need to check the sugar level each day, until it reaches 2 brix.  Once that occurs, the cider is done fermenting and can be transferred to another container where it will sit until the cider clears and I can then bottle it.  For those impatience folks out there, yes, there is a product you can use to clear the cider and bottle it immediately, but it is made from shellfish so I can’t use it.  I just have to do it the old fashioned way and wait.  I did put a sign on the container, the last thing I need is five gallons of sticky sweet apple cider to be spilled in my kitchen!

2 thoughts on “Apples, apples, everywhere

Leave a Reply

