Apple Crisp

After I made the maple apple jam, I had seven apples leftover.  I just didn’t feel like making a pie crust, so I took the easy way out and made a quick apple crisp to have with dinner on Sunday night.

apple-crisp

I didn’t follow a recipe, I just cut the apples, tossed them in a bit of sugar and cinnamon and poured them into a baking dish.  I topped that with a combination of old fashioned oats, flour, brown sugar, butter, and diced walnuts.

I baked it in the oven at 350 degrees for 50 minutes, until the apples were done and the top was lightly brown.   The little girls from next door came over and were very disappointed that we were having apple crisp without vanilla ice cream.  They were kind enough to inform me that it just wasn’t done – apple crisp should ALWAYS be served with ice cream.  Goodness, I guess I have learned my lesson and will be picking up a container of vanilla ice cream to serve with the rest of the apple crisp!

Leave a Reply

