Butternut squash soup

I only used half the butternut squash in the risotto, the other half was peeled, cut, and sitting in my fridge.  I also had half a red onion, and one celery stalk hanging out in the crisper drawer.  I decided to make a small, quick batch of soup, since the nights have been a bit chilly this week.

I didn’t follow a recipe, I diced the onion and celery, peeled and diced a carrot.  I tossed them in a pot with a bit of olive oil, salt and pepper.  I let them sweat while I peeled and diced three small white potatoes.  I added the potatoes and butternut squash to the pot along with a splash of apple cider.

I added 4 cups of vegetable stock, a dash of curry power, a dash of paprika, and a dash of smoked paprika.  I brought the entire pot to a boil, turned it down to a simmer and let it cook until the vegetables were tender.   I pureed the contents of the pot, added a little more salt and pepper and served it with a simple grilled cheese sandwich.  I don’t think the hubby realized he ate, and actually LIKED, a vegetarian dinner, until he was done!

Leave a Reply

