Cranberry Vodka

Fresh cranberries have made their debut in my grocery store and it isn’t a minute too soon as far as I am concerned!  I started making liqueurs for the holidays about ten years ago.  Up until three years ago, I had never duplicated a recipe.  Well that all changed when I made Cranberry Vodka.  It was a huge hit and I have had multiple requests for it.  I sincerely doubt I could get away without making it for the holidays, it is now a tradition.

cranberry-vodka

It is super simple to make, you toss the cranberries in a food processor to chop them finely, you add them to a jar along with a bit of lime peel, orange peel, a cinnamon stick, vodka, and simple syrup.  You let it sit on the counter, covered, shaking it every few days, for the next 8 weeks.  After that it is a simple matter of straining the vodka and bottling it.   I absolutely love the color, it will deepen over the next few weeks, it is such a cheerful color that livens up even the coldest, dreariest, darkest days of winter.

Luckily, I have found some pretty bottles to decant the liqueur into for the holidays.   Between this and the hard apple cider that is currently fermenting in my kitchen, we should have a festive holiday season on our hands.

Leave a Reply

