Stuffed Peppers

Peppers were on sale this week in the grocery store, so I picked up quite a few of them.   The hubby loves stuffed peppers, so I figured I could kill to birds with one stone – save money AND make a dinner he loves.

stuffed-peppers

I had some shredded yellow squash in the freezer, along with some tomato sauce.  I pulled both of them out to use with this dish.  My stuffed peppers are a 1:1:1 ratio of meat, vegetables, and rice.

While the meat was browning, I started a batch of white rice.  I added diced onion, minced garlic, shredded carrot, and the shredded yellow squash to the meat as it was browning.  After seasoning the meat mixture, I combined it with the rice.  I added a nice handful of grated Parmesan cheese and stuffed the hollowed out peppers.

I had a bit of the meat mixture left, so I added it to the tomato sauce and spooned that around the peppers.   The weather was actually nice so I cooked them out on the grill and we were able to eat dinner outside, yeah! I probably should have made another side dish but I was just too tired to care.  I figured we had enough veggies on the plate between the filling and the peppers themselves.   I have been battling a cold that just won’t go away and by the time I get dinner cleaned it up it is all I can do to keep my eyes open.  Thankfully, I seem to be on the mend, just in time for our annual alumni reunion, which is coming up this weekend.  It will be three days of early mornings and late nights.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

