Chicken and Barley Soup

Ever since the weather has turned colder, I have been craving soup.  I really wanted Chicken Noodle, but the hubby isn’t a fan.  I settled for Chicken with Mushrooms and Barley instead.

prep

I find it absolutely soothing to spend the day in the kitchen, chopping, prepping, and cooking.  It is my version of therapy!

I cleaned and diced carrots, celery, onions, mushrooms and parsley.  I diced two chicken breasts into bite size pieces.   Once all of the prep was done, I started on the soup.

First, I browned the chicken, in batches.  Once that was done, I removed the chicken from the pan and added the mushrooms.  I let them get nice and brown, then removed them, lowered the heat, and added the rest of the vegetables, along with a generous sprinkle of salt and pepper.  The veggies sweated for about ten minutes, I deglazed the pan with a bit of vermouth and white wine.   I added a cup of uncooked barley, the chicken and mushrooms along with  8 cups of chicken stock.  I turned it to a boil, reduced it to a simmer, and partially covered the pan.   It took about an hour for the veggies to be completely tender and the barley to be fully cooked.

soup-and-sammie

The hubby wanted a grilled cheese with his soup.  I toasted up two slices of rye bread for me and we were both very, very happy campers!  I am so grateful that the hubby is totally fine with soup for dinner.

Leave a Reply

