SNOW!

Sorry folks, the cold weather and snow is all my fault.   I took the hubby to church yesterday for a christening and BAM, three hours later, temperature plummet and snow falls from the sky, I guess you can officially say hell has frozen over!

Since the weather was down right frosty, I decided to make a batch of soup.  I have been craving a bowl of cream of whatever soup and I finally gave in today….Cream of Cauliflower to the rescue.

cream-of-cauliflower

Super duper simple.  I diced and sauteed three leeks in butter.  I seasoned it with salt and pepper before adding two heads of cauliflower and eight cups of broth.  I tossed in some fresh thyme and two bay leaves.  I brought it to a boil, turned it to a simmer and let it cook, covered for 30 minutes.  While the soup was cooking, I cut two other heads of cauliflower into small florets and steamed them.   After 30 minutes, I pureed the soup, added in the florets, two cups of shredded cheddar cheese, and two cups of heavy cream.  YUM!

11-20-16-014

We had the soup for lunch along with sandwiches.  Not a bad way to spend a frigidly cold November day!

Leave a Reply

