Chicken Marsala Meatballs

I made these meatballs a few months back and we LOVED them.  I brought in a batch to one of my coworkers and he has been begging for them ever since.   The poor man was scheduled for a minor outpatient procedure this week, on his jaw, so I took pity on him and made the meatballs so he would have something easy to eat, nutritious, and delicious.

I am super duper finicky about my ground meats, I either purchase it that day from the local butcher, who grinds it to order, or I grind it myself.  In this instance, I didn’t have time to go to the butcher, so I picked up boneless, skinless chicken breasts from the store and ground the meat myself.  I added the other ingredients (cheese, egg, panko bread crumbs, parsley) and formed the meatballs.  It is best to let them sit in the fridge for a few hours and get really really cold before you fry them.  They tend to keep their shape better when they are ice cold.   The sauce is very simple, mushrooms, onions, chicken stock….the recipe is from Giada and it is really easy to make.  I usually double the sauce and put the meatballs over pasta.

11-27-16-012

To round out the meal, I also made a big batch of rice pudding, again something easy to eat for a man who had surgery on his mouth.  Bonus – my hubby was thrilled with both the meatballs AND the rice pudding!  All in a days work folks…

One thought on “Chicken Marsala Meatballs

Leave a Reply

